Messi beat Virgil van Dijk to win 2019 Ballon d’Or for sixth time

Lionel Messi, has been named as Ballon d’Or for the year 2019.

The Argentine and Barcelona Skipper, received the award on Monday night at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris, France.

Leo Beat beat Virgil van Dijk, who came second and Cristiano Ronaldo, who did not attend the ceremony.

This is the sixth time Lionel Messi won the prestigious award. He is the first Player to win it for sixth time.

Messi reacted that he didn’t expect to win the award as it is unthinkable.

“I still remember my first Ballon D’Or in Paris, when I arrived with my brothers, now I pick up the sixth, and this was absolutely unthinkable.

The FIFA Best player also said that he had never ceased dreaming and enjoying football when he was at tender age. He said everything happens quickly.

“I never stopped dreaming and enjoying football like when I was a child. I hope I have more years to enjoy, although I am aware of how old I am, everything happens very quickly and I know that the moment is approaching” Messi said.

Here are Messi record in 2018/2019 season.

La Liga : 36 goals, 13 assists

Champions League: 12 goals, 3 assists

La Liga title with Barcelona

Best FIFA Best player of the Year

European golden shoe award.

The full winners are as follows :

Men’s Ballon d’Or: Lionel Messi

Women’s Ballon d’Or: Megan Rapinoe

Yachine Trophy: Alisson Becker

Kopa Trophy: Matthijs de Ligt

%d bloggers like this: